Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Navratri – Celebrating the nine forms of Goddess Durga

Nine nights of feasting, fasting and prayers are followed by the grand festival of Dassehra, celebrated all over India, tommorrow, October 24, especially with much fervor in Kolkata (earlier called Calcutta)

Sarvajanik Durga puja at Aquem, Margao, Goa

Mesmerising - the deities have been decorated, beautifully.

The nine forms of Goddess Durga celebrated during Navratri are:

Shailputri – also known as Parvati

Brahmacharini – Most generous avatar (incarnation)

Chandraghanta - Represents bravery

Kushmanda – It is believed that worshippining this form of Durga, enhances a person’s intellectual abilities and decision making skills

Skanda Mata – Goddess of health

Katyayani - Goddess of beauty

Kalratri – Personifies power

Maha Gauri – Goddess of fertility

Siddhidatri – Goddess of Siddhi (accomplishment)

Wish you all A Very Happy Dasshera !!