Sunday, October 13, 2013

The Nine days festival – Navratri

The nine forms of Shakti – the creative feminine power, are worshipped during Navratri. The different forms of Shakti – the primordial cosmic energy are Goddess Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswati.

This year Navratri is being celebrated from October 6 – 14. October 14 marks the eve of Dusshera – to celebrate the triumph of good over evil !

Durga Devi puja are Sarvajanik mandal, Aquem, Margao, Goa, India
This festival is celebrated all over India, but with special enthusiasm in Kolkata.

The various powerful forms of the Goddess worshipped with great fervor on each of the days of Navratri are described herewith:

The beautifully lighted Shantadurga temple at Shantinagar, Aquem, Goa

Temple glows with lights...

Shantadurga Devi

Durga Devi puja at Fatorda, Margao, Goa, India

Day 1: First form: Shailaputri: The Goddess is depicted seated on a bull.

Day 2: Second form: Brahmacharini: She is depicted with prayer beads (Japmala) in the right hand and a prayer pot (Kamandal) in the left hand.

Day 3: Third form: Chandraghanta: Seated of a tiger, her forehead bears is adorned with the half moon shaped adornment. She is repesented with 10 hands which bear various weapons.

Day 4: Fourth form: Kushmanda: Also, known as Adi Shakti (who existed before the universe was formed) She is represented with eight arms, which bear various weapons and is seated on a tiger.

Day 5: Fifth form: Skandamata: Seated in a kamal (lotus) asan posture, on a lion, she is represented with four arms. And is also known as Padmasna Devi.

Day 6: Sixth form: Katyayni: She is represented with four arms and is seated on a lion.

Day 7: Seventh form: Kalratri: She is represented with a dark complexion. Seated on a gardhab (in Hindi, donkey in English) , she is four armed. She looks to be fearful, but bestows happiness.

Day 8: Eighth form: Mahagauri: The four armed Goddess is represented as fair skinned wearing pure white colored saree, and looks very peaceful, and is seated on a bull.

Day 9: Siddhidhatri: She is seated on a lotus and is represented with four arms.
The radiant Goddess of Shakti (power) 

“The nine days of Navratri are observed to perform spiritual practices for awakening of Shakti!”

No comments: