Tuesday, August 3, 2010

UNESCO World Heritage sites of India

The UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation) encourages countries to sign the World Heritage Convention and to ensure the protection of their natural and cultural heritage. This is indeed a great endeavour of this organisation to ensure that our legacy from the past is passed on to our future generations. It encourages international cooperation in the conservation of our world's cultural and natural heritage.

The UNESCO World Heritage sites of India are:

1) Agra Fort
2) Ajanta Caves
3) Buddhist Monuments at Sanchi
4) Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological Park
5) Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus)
6) Churches and Convents of Goa
7) Elephanta Caves
8) Ellora Caves
9) Fatehpur Sikri
10) Great Living Chola Temples
11) Group of Monuments at Hampi
12) Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram
13) Group of Monuments at Pattadakal
14) Humayun's Tomb, Delhi
15) Khajuraho Group of Monuments
16) Mahabodhi Temple Complex at Bodh Gaya
17) Mountain Railways of India
18) Qutb Minar and its Monuments, Delhi
19) Red Fort Complex
20) Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka
21) Sun Temple, Konark
22) Taj Mahal

1) Kaziranga National Park
2) Keoladeo National Park
3) Manas Wildlife Sanctuary
4) Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Parks
5) Sundarbans National Park
Of these, I have been to 6 sites and hope to visit all of these sites in my life time !

The Adventure continues -----------

No comments: